X as Intersection: Latinx Artists in Conversation

A series featuring the cohort of the Latinx Artist Fellowship

X as Intersection:

Homenaje

February 28, 2024

1pm PST/3pm CST/4pm EST

Online, via Zoom

In moments of hardship and joy alike, acts of memorialization, monumentalization, and remembrance carry particular resonance. This panel invites artists Felipe Baeza, Edra Soto, and Mario Ybarra, Jr. to reflect on the presence of homenaje (homage or tribute) in their work. Acknowledging the significance of forging connections between past, present, and future, the discussion will explore how commemoration can shed light on ancestral places and identities, obscured or suppressed histories, and the affirmation of collective memory and spirituality.  

This conversation is moderated by Susanna V. Temkin, Curator, El Museo del Barrio, and Sonja E. Gandert, Associate Director Research Initiatives, US Latinx Art Forum.

Simultaneous interpretation in Spanish provided by Babilla Collective.

RSVP Today!

Previous X as Intersection Recordings

Recordings of all prior X as Intersection conversations are available on USLAF’s Youtube channel

2023-2024 Series
2022-2023 Series
2021-2022 Series